One Fine, Pfabulous Day

Today, the 29th of April,  is the birthday of my favourite film related person of all time, the superlative Michelle Pfeiffer. Words, especially so late at night when I can’t think clearly, cannot express how much I adore her. I’ve fêted her time and time again, because I honestly believe that she is the greatest, most talented and formidable actress of her generation.
Melanie ParkerIn preparation for the Pfilm Pfest I happened to rewatch One Fine Day this past weekend. Truth be told, I’ve probably rewatched it one time more than I needed to, but some films rise far above just picture and sound and One Fine Day is one of them. It has something intangible. A magic that permeates through it, with dialogue that’s sharp, witty, perfectly delivered and written for people who are over the age of consent, and not afraid to admit it.
Turn the World OffBack in 1996 many people dismissed One Fine Day as a pale imitation of Sleepless in Seattle, but I’d say it has aged far better; mainly because it’s filled with the witty banter that’s been a genre mainstay since before the days of The Taming of the Shrew… a factor that Sleepless misses out on.
FormidableOne Fine Day might seem a little safe, or predictable, or old-fashioned, but watching it again, I was taken with the comic timing, as well as its loose adherence to a three-act romantic comedy structure. A comedy with a deadline, One Fine Day adroitly builds to a climax, somewhat like a thriller.
Her SmileGeorge Clooney is a living, breathing pheromone. He’s also Peter Pan looking for his Wendy, brought to life in the form of Michelle, sleep deprived, mascara smudged, clad in her son’s dinosaur t-shirt and still more beautiful than 99% of humanity. She’s a romantic comedy masterpiece, the perfect blend of charm, intelligence and beauty, with a heart-meltingly wholesome, yet sexy smile.
Michelle and Amanda PeetI do think this one of Michelle’s most enjoyable performances. Her natural subtlety and ease is masterful. The more you laugh, the more you fall in love with her and unfortunately, we haven’t really seen Pfeiffer do funny since; unless you count the dire New Year’s Eve.
Prelude to the KissMichelle and Clooney make such a delicious combination that it’s easy to overstress their contributions. But as important as these stars are, a lot of credit must go to director Michael Hoffman who completely nails what a romantic movie should be; with two actors in their prime and a vision of New York full of romance, meaning and hope.
Happy Birthday MichelleIn my limited imagination the only thing missing from One Fine Day is a cameo appearance from Meg Ryan, but it’s possible that so much brilliance in one film would have caused me to spontaneously combust. Meg and Michelle are at such opposite ends of the spectrum as actors it would have been fascinating to see them in close proximity to one and other. The quintessential leading lady and the queen of romantic comedy. Just imagine the glorious verbal exchanges the two would have shared. Enough.
Happy Birthday Michelle!

8 Comments

Filed under Blogathon, Retrospective

8 responses to “One Fine, Pfabulous Day

  1. KG

    I am so in love with that movie 🙂 Happy Birthday Michelle!

  2. One Fine Day is definitely superior to Sleepless in Seattle. 🙂

    • Touché. Every time I watch Sleepless in Seattle I find myself comparing it to One Fine Day, and I can’t help but love the latter all that much more. Thanks for your thoughtful comments over the last few weeks Lloyd. I’ve enjoyed and appreciated every one.

  3. Your love of film really shines through! I wholeheartedly identify with your admiration for Michelle. I feel similarly about Thora Birch. Though Thora didn’t get much work (all told), her acting prowess has amazed me time and again. I feel like Saoirse Ronan is taking up the torch now. Those are just some of my favorite actresses. Perhaps my two favorites. It is certainly beyond words what these artists add to our lives through their work. Thank you for your continued fandom! –Paul

  4. Ooooh I LOVE this film! It’s perhaps my favorite Clooney role, but it’s Le Pfeiffer who was the main draw for me. Such a cute rom-com in the vein of Nora Ephron… love it!

  5. RB

    Magic is indeed the word to describe OFD.
    Happy Birthday Michelle, you rock!
    Paul, email to you shortly.

  6. If only Meg had been the rich sister unable to watch her nephew.

Leave a Reply

