“What Would You Do if I Kissed You Right Now?”… My Never-Ending Review of One Fine Day

One Fine Day, along with Addicted to Love and Flesh and Bone, forms the unholy trinity of 1990’s films that I like much more than most. I actually don’t find anything suspect in the fact that I like all three, but my unrelenting passion for One Fine Day sometimes causes me to question my objectivity.
Holy TrinityThey say that the movies you love grow old with you. When I saw Addicted to Love and One Fine Day for the first time I was a young man who was falling in love with films. These effervescent takes on the screwball comedies of yore seduced me in the most unexpected of ways, mainly because they hit the Mother Lode of gorgeousness with their stars. I couldn’t believe people as beautiful as George Clooney, Michelle Pfeiffer and Meg Ryan could possibly be earthly, in the way your wildest dreams never feel real when you wake up.
Captain Hook ComplexIn retrospect One Fine Day‘s setup is not as inventive as it likes to think, but I still find it fresh and enjoyable nonetheless. Addicted to Love may have a more unique rhythm, and offbeat take on the path to true love, but One Fine Day still has so much to offer.
Sam and Maggie KissThere are two scenes in these films that play almost as parallel movements in symphonies, and I still tingle with excitement every time I watch them. Sam and Maggie’s kiss for the camera at Di Roberti’s is a delight, and I don’t even cringe when Clooney tries the old “What would you do if I kissed you right now?” line on Michelle. I love George’s delivery, but Michelle’s reaction is a gem too, bringing to mind the words of Roger Ebert: “Sixty seconds of wondering if someone is about to kiss you is more entertaining than 60 minutes of kissing.”
Jack and Melanie kiss Truly, One Fine Day is Michelle’s show. Sure, Amanda Peet and Charles Durning offer fine supporting cameos. Sure, George is sublime at times, but this film is all about Michelle Pfeiffer. From the very first scene I’m captivated by this woman. I find it impossible to separate One Fine Day from La Pfeiffer and I love it for that. Am I the only one?

13 Comments

Filed under Retrospective

13 responses to ““What Would You Do if I Kissed You Right Now?”… My Never-Ending Review of One Fine Day

  1. “… but this film is all about Michelle Pfeiffer. From the very first scene I’m captivated by this woman.”

    As well we all are, Paul. 🙂

  2. RB

    well you know what a Pfeiffer Pfan I am. No question she makes the movie – look what she does with a single word: “Cars.” Can anyone else convey so many personalities and sentiments in just one word? Job-family-defeat-grittiness-triumph.

    • Thanks for chiming in RB. I know I’ve gone to this particular well far too many times recently, so I appreciate you sharing a different perspective.
      I don’t know, I’m just a guy trying to get to grips with a movie he adores. Maybe I should give it a rest for a while and enjoy the summer!

      • RB

        Certain movies just take ahold of you and there’s nothing much that can be done about it. My two cents are that, when you can be this affected by art, it speaks to the depth of your soul, how much soul you have.
        When you appreciate a cinematic journey the way you do with “One Fine day”, well, that’s a lot of soul!
        Now here’s where I start to sound like a broken record. I was bowled over by “Kate and Leopold” – that movie is going to stay with me. Meg was almost Michelle-like in the range she displayed as Kate, who not only had Susie Diamond-like facets to her personality, her character transformed in front of our eyes as the story unfolded.
        Still, movies are movies and life is life. Sometimes you just have to walk away from the art that is mesmerizing you, and take in a different perspective, different physical surroundings. The films will always be there for you when you are ready.
        You should definitely enjoy the summer!

        • I’ve finally ordered the Director’s Cut of Kate and Leopold and your review and comments are raising my excitement levels as I anticipate finally watching it. From what you say about Kate McKay, she could be set to join Melanie Parker on my Mount Rushmore of movie characters!

  3. No you are not the only one!!! 🙂 Love this movie (maybe not as addicted as you are. Ha!! BUT I still love it as well)
    So you were a young man, in the 90’s (so was I)
    Like the fact you used a Roger Ebert quote!! Nice write-up!!

    • It warms my heart to know there is actually another fan of One Fine Day out there. It may not be the best romantic comedy since Annie Hall, but to quote Ebert, quoting Jean-Luc Godard “Cinema is the history of boys photographing girls.” I think of those words every time I watch Michelle in this one.
      Sadly Roger only gave One Fine Day a two-star review, although Leonard Maltin did include it in his 151 Best Movies You’ve Never Seen.
      Thanks for reading. Your comment just made my day.

  4. What?! I never saw One Fine Day! How did this escape my notice?

    • One Fine Day may not be very original, but George Clooney and Michelle Pfeiffer have amazing chemistry that brings the story to life. It’s a film I treasure deeply, and I hope you’ll come across and give it a chance. It deserves it!

  5. It’s been 20 years so forgive my memory if this is wrong but my recollection is One Fine Day was stunningly retro for its time. A star vehicle that downplayed sex and was supposed to trade on clever dialogue exchanges between the leads. Alas while not as witty as the quips of Hepburn and Tracey it was a delight with its location shooting, chemistry between leads and sweet sentiment. I have not seen Addicted to Love but I’d dare say it would be the more revolutionary one? Which is best I couldn’t say but a fond memory of One Fine Day is only natural when it comes into your life at a pivotal moment. I have fond memories of it too. This was definitely Michelle Pfeiffer’s film, (she co-produced it didn’t she?), Clooney was up and coming and Pfeiffer is the star in every way. So glad to see an Ebert quote, I was a big fan too.

    • A big reason why I’m addicted to One Fine Day has less to do with the actual quality of the film than with my personal memories of watching the movie multiple times over the years. It’s a comforting film to watch and comforting to blog about. You’re right that it was refreshingly retro, a throwback to the screwball comedies of the past, and a crowd-pleasing venture for Michelle who also co-produced.
      I’m not sure I’d recommend Addicted to Love, which was quite a departure for Meg Ryan at the time. I loved the idea of a dark romantic comedy, and the execution of this one really worked for me. In terms of which is actually the better film of the two. I’ve tried and I don’t know the answer. Maybe there is no answer. Maybe they’re equally brilliant!

      • I think you’re right, they’re different enough that a comparison can illuminate what you like about both but defining which is better ultimately comes down to personal choice.

Leave a Reply

