I’m Through, with Maggie, Jack and Melanie Parker too!

If you ask somebody which film they remember from 1997 they’ll say Titanic, if they’re honest. If they want to go against type they’ll say Con Air or Anaconda, and if they’re a ”serious” film buff they’ll say Lost Highway. All of those films are great, but the one film I wish would get some remembrance for being wonderful in 1997 was Addicted to Love. Groan and roll your eyes all you want, but Addicted to Love has such an intoxicating vibe, I find it impossible to resist.
Great Screen BeautyOne Fine Day‘s Melanie may have been the great screen beauty of the year, but Addicted to Love‘s Maggie had the best zingers and the most hypnotic eyes I had seen in a long time. Addicted to Love would be nothing without these eyes. Ryan’s character is played out almost entirely through them, but when she does speak, the eyes sell things even more. Meg is more than just another blonde in a movie, as she shamelessly flirts with the camera, and why not? She was in her prime. Possibly the last time she looked natural and immortal.
Madcap MaggieIf you’d told anyone in 1997 that the girl from French Kiss and the guy from The Cable Guy would make for some of the best screen chemistry of the year, no one would have believed you, and even though Matthew Broderick is no Cary Grant, his milquetoast Sam is the only person to make Maggie smile, drawing out her effortless glow. In the best traditions of screwball comedy, madcap Maggie dominates their relationship, but then again, whenever Meg Ryan is in the frame, everybody else is a bag lady.
Hypnotic MaggieAnother actress could have made Maggie unwatchable, desperate and shrill, but Meg made her character alluring and strong. What makes her so compelling to watch is the literal darkness of her wardrobe, drawn in part from biker shops, but also inspired by the late Edie Sedgwick. With her dark roots and bra straps showing; she’s rough around the edges, a sharp contrast to One Fine Day‘s classy Melanie Parker.
New York (Maggie)My English teacher in high school used to say that you can write a unifying topic about any two texts, and I’ve used that spirit as I’ve spent this summer musing over the gorgeous muses of Addicted to Love and One Fine Day. I’m always irked that Michelle didn’t do more romantic comedies, but maybe that’s what makes One Fine Day so special. It’s one of those rare, one-of-a-kind movies that captures comedy lightning in a bottle
Screwball MaggiePfeiffer and Ryan were always a delight, and I wouldn’t want anyone to steal my dream, where Maggie and Melanie actually meet and create a great spin-off/sequel. As different as the proverbial apples and oranges they’d make a strangely perfect combination. I do wish I could stop thinking about them, but you can’t choose who you fall in love with.

11 Comments

Filed under Retrospective

11 responses to “I’m Through, with Maggie, Jack and Melanie Parker too!

  1. RB

    OK well the title of this article gave me a start… but then I got lost in your delightful prose and realized that thankfully, you’re not going anywhere!

    • Thanks, RB! I appreciate that! I’m so happy people are enjoying these posts. I didn’t mean to write so many of them this summer but I couldn’t help myself. They bring me too much joy.

  2. The best movie, and my favorite movie of 1997 is L.A. CONFIDENTIAL.

    • Welcome robbushblog, nice to hear from you.
      I still haven’t seen all of L.A. Confidential, but in retrospect, 1997 was absolutely stacked with fine films and strong performances.

  3. Ah, it is about time I pull this one out of the DVD cupboard…been ages. Thanks for reminding me about it. The other movies from 1997 in my collection (which means I liked them at some point) are: The Full Monty, The Fifth Element (not sure about it now – watched it the other day and just wasn’t the same) and Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door.

    • Ooh, I hope you don’t regret that decision. Because you might. I hope not. I really, really hope not. Just let me down easy if you do. That’s all I ask.

      • Don’t worry…I won’t regret it and I won’t let you down. I haven’t watched it in years and really looking forward to a re-watch. That’s the awesome thing about all these blogs I follow – the reminders of all those wonderful movies I haven’t watched in ages!

  4. Really great post, Meg Ryan in her prime really was spectacular. 1997 – what a great year for movies!

    • Welcome and thanks for the comment! I can’t believe it was 19 years ago that this movie came out, At the time I felt as though I’d never seen anything like it, and it continues to wow me on all counts. And yes, you’re spot on, Meg Ryan is spectacular as Maggie!

  5. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but I really enjoyed French Kiss and I don’t know why Meg has had all that plastic surgery. 😦

Leave a Reply

