The Awful Truth About Maggie and Melanie Parker…

I’ve been writing about Addicted to Love for the last six months. Trouble is, it bores 99% of my readers. The good thing? 1% love it. Never forget the 1%.mess-is-more-for-maggieBlogging is like making a film; you have an idea and then try to shape it into something that people will like. The awful truth is, when you try to please everyone, you don’t truly grab anyone. But I believe if you do what you really want to do, then something wonderful will happen.
Maggie through a lensI do often wonder though why I do this to myself? There was a time when I’d just read, watch a film, listen to some music and read a lot of books. Now I’m addicted to this blogging malarkey and have spent most of this year forsaking all others for Meg Ryan’s Maggie and Pfeiffer’s Melanie Parker.mpSpeaking strictly in terms of character Maggie seems more of a cartoon, whereas Melanie Parker strikes me as more of a real person. As Melanie and Jack (George Clooney) regard each other in a rhapsodic gaze I’m reminded of the great romantic pairings of Hollywood’s golden age. Of Gable and Lombard, Bogart and Bacall (or Bergman), Tracy and Hepburn.
freshening-upNot to be too predictable or anything, but any debate involving Michelle Pfeiffer is usually no contest. Maggie however, is a brilliant, head-spinning creation, a fractured princess with endless shards of Machiavellian madness to share. In other words, a role beautifully suited to Meg Ryan’s sparkling talent.irresistableI do love One Fine Day (more, perhaps, than I love Michelle Pfeiffer, or even Addicted to Love, for that matter), but even so, for sheer demonic panache Maggie is irresistible!

14 Comments

Filed under Retrospective

14 responses to “The Awful Truth About Maggie and Melanie Parker…

  1. Yaaay! I consider myself in that 1%. What a lovely post. I’m with you on that idea that if you do something for yourself or that one person it becomes fantastic. I’ve also come to the conclusion that if I write when I’m inspired and put all thoughts of “likes” and “followers” aside, it becomes a much better piece than if I try to write for a particular audience. And, when I have too many posts in the pipeline or need to write on demand…they also tend to fall flat. So, I wouldn’t worry too much – you are doing great and your blog rocks!
    PS: At the moment I can’t write anything because I’m head-over-heels with a certain movie you recommended…I just can’t get it out of my mind. One of the best feelings when a movie has that effect on me. And that piece of music “Ball” is also on repeat in my mind and my car.
    Ok…once more…have a great rest of your week 😉

  2. Hi Paul, well theres been a few times u had me convinced there was a real movie, when in fact it was just you, and your creativity. I think that’s an awesome thing. I think you have a great blog, I may not get over here as often as I like, but I have a new pc now:). there is something about Meg and Michelle….. that makes me want to read your blog:) have a wonderful rest of the week Paul

  3. Great post 🙂 Your constant blogging of One Fine Day with Addicted to Love does not bore me at all 🙂 Make that 2% that loves hearing you talk about it (that includes me) 🙂 I love how you say that blogging is like making a film in which one tries to please everybody. Off hand, I can think of two really great books about the making of films that please certain people, but not everybody and those are “Picture” by Lillian Ross chronicling the making of John Huston’s Red Badge of Courage (1951) and “The Devil’s Candy” by Julie Salamon chronicling the making of Bonfire of the Vanities (1990).

    Back to the topic though, it is interesting to compare and contrast the behavior and physical beauty of Maggie in Addicted to Love and Melanie Parker in One Fine Day. Whereas One Fine Day can sometimes be looked upon as an homage of sorts to the romantic comedies of the 30’s and 40’s, Addicted to Love‘s homage to them is much more subtle and If one took a 30’s or 40’s romantic comedy and blended it with the darkly comedic elements that shape the more contemporary comedies or romantic comedies of the day like After Hours, Something Wild or Married to the Mob and put it in a blender, you would get Addicted to Love. That probably sounds too complex and maybe even flawed, but an interesting way of looking at it nevertheless. Anyway, keep up the great work as always 🙂

    • John thanks again, your comments are endlessly entertaining. I’ll look to add “Picture” and “The Devil’s Candy” to my ever-growing pile of books.
      You make more sense than I do when it come to One Fine Day and Addicted to Love. An instructor of mine once criticised a script I had written by saying that it was a play, that there was “nothing cinematic about it.” That comment has stuck with me a long time, and I think it’s because some of my favourite movies could be described the same way. When Harry Met Sally… Frankie and Johnny, Prelude to a Kiss and Addicted to Love. The visuals aren’t what do it for you in those movies, it’s the characters and dialogue that keep you glued to the screen.
      I wish I could blend some of the scenes from Addicted to Love into One Fine Day. Meg and Michelle would have made a pairing akin to Goldie Hawn and Meryl Streep in Death Becomes Her. Pfeiffer’s feisty, but Maggie would win a rumble with Melanie Parker any day of the week!

      • Thanks for the reply 🙂 I wonder If your past instructor felt the same way about The Awful Truth and Bringing Up Baby to name but a few? The reason I ask is because that would be hypocritical of him if he loved those movies, but criticized every aspect of your script. In other words, it would make no sense at all. One guy who is known to make contemporary comedy look cinematic is director/writer Edgar Wright, who did Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World and The World’s End. Mainly in the department of editing (cut to every single detail in a fast way). If you have seen any of his films, you probably know what I am talking about 🙂 But you are right, I mean just because it does not feel cinematic blatantly (they tend to be more subtle in romantic comedies), does not make them less of a real breathing film.

        That would be interesting to pair Maggie from Addicted to Love and Melanie from One Fine Day together. Maggie would definitely win considering that she looks like the type who fights dirty 🙂 Anyway, keep up the great work as always 🙂

  4. RB

    Count me in the 1%. In fact, it feels like quite an honor. It’s the only time I will ever be included in the 1% of anything!

  5. What an astute analysis Paul. I like your description of Maggie as a ‘fractured princess.’ An imperfect, troubled protagonist is inherently more intriguing than a normal or flawless one.

Leave a Reply

