Happy Birthday One Fine Day

Yes, it’s difficult to believe, but One Fine Day was released 20 years ago today. Maybe it’s because I’m more hopeless than the most hopeless of hopeless romantics that I’ve been holding forth on this film and Addicted to Love for most of 2016. It’s been fabulous, and I want to thank everyone who has stopped by to read any of my posts, even if you thought I was a fool (which I obviously am). It means the world that my melodramatic opinions have touched anyone at all.
one-fine-dayMichael Hoffman’s ode to the classic screwball comedies opens with a shot of New York that resembles how New York always appears in my mind. I’ve never been there, yet my imagination never fails to see it as a crime-free, affluent, skyscraper laden utopia that has probably never existed.
peter-pan-captain-hook-complexWatching Clooney and Pfeiffer’s beautifully-crafted Manhattan street scenes I find it impossible not to feel a sense of loss, a nostalgia for a time when anything seemed possible. When New York was a vision, filled with romance and hope.
linz-pfeiffer-and-whitmanOne Fine Day might well be the perfect distillation of the modern rom-com – the perfect couple, the perfect scenery, and the perfect music (Ella Fitzgerald’s Isn’t It Romantic? especially). It also has the distinction of being something it wasn’t meant to be: the end of an era.
swept-off-her-feetThe release of When Harry Met Sally… in 1989 saw a re-birth of the art form, a glorious renaissance which peaked in the mid 1990s. The Meg Ryan Canon lit up the world’s cinemas for a decade, but the greatest of her films to follow, Addicted to Love was just a little too dark, too ambitious and too off-centre to fit into the oeuvre. Meg created and epitomised the female lead of the modern romantic comedy. But it was Michelle (and Clooney) who gave the genre a fitting farewell, with that last kiss, in One Fine Day.

thoughts-all-sorts

Many thanks to Catherine from Thought’s All Sorts for co-hosting!

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under Retrospective

11 responses to “Happy Birthday One Fine Day

  1. KG

    Cheers to my favorite film 🙂

  2. Ha ha Paul…I guess I’d never introduced myself to you before but it got out 😉
    I’m Catherine by the way tee hee.

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday – One Fine Day | Thoughts All Sorts

  4. Wow… I’m really starting to feel old Paul.

  5. Great post 🙂 Hard to believe One Fine Day is 20 years old 🙂 Next year Addicted to Love is going to be turning the same age 🙂 1996 was also the same year David Cronenberg’s controversial Crash opened at the Cannes Film Festival. It was supposed to come out here in the US in 1996, but the distributor released it the following year for some odd reason. Anyway, keep up the great work as always and though I will probably be wishing you this before the two days, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 🙂

    • It’s funny you mention the opening of Crash, One Fine Day had a similar staggered release; Christmas in America, July in the U.K.
      I’ve already got Addicted to Love‘s 20th birthday blogathon pencilled in my diary for May 2017. Until then I’ll try not to mention either of these films for a while. As much as I love the posts, I think I’ve probably exhausted every possible angle.
      Thanks again for your good wishes and thoughtful comments. Merry Christmas!

  6. It would be interesting to consider what are the great romantic comedies in the twenty year wake of One Fine Day. Most have to be meta in their humour but if you look hard enough you can find them. Something that springs to mind is Two Weeks Notice, You’ve Got Mail and definitely The Proposal. But this could be an interesting topic since I agree the rom-com had its peak in the 1990s.

Leave a Reply

