A Dozen Thoughts I had While Watching Addicted to Love and One Fine Day on Groundhog Day…

Why am I doing this? Watching Addicted to Love from the ungodly hour of midnight till 1:33 AM. Is it because Meg Ryan looks (really) fine in a feather boa. Is it because when it starts I’m instantly in a good mood. I don’t know. Maybe it’s because Addicted to Love is a film full of little surprises, but they’re not quite where they should be.
radio-rowMaggie and Sam shop for electronic surveillance devices on “Radio Row”in Manhattan. As an electronic engineering student in the 90s, this would have been my idea of heaven. A place where you could plunge a sugar scoop into the barrel and scoop out a couple of pounds of resistors onto the scale. “And could I have a pound of field effect transistors with that?”This movie has an interesting, humorous view of romantic obsession. It is a good romantic comedy, but it is mostly a vehicle for Meg Ryan, who wears a different outfit in every scene as she flirts with the camera quite shamelessly.
linda-and-maggieMeg and Kelly Preston never share a scene. Why? Does Maggie has a clause in her contract that no other blonde will appear in the frame while she (the party of the first part) is on screen. Side note: Maggie’s Cupid’s bow was scrumptious!Funniest line: The jiltors have been making love very loudly while Ryan and Broderick (the jiltees) listen in from their hide-out across the street. Ryan is seething with rage, but Broderick is in denial and cries, “Listen Catwoman, at the end of day, she’s coming back to me!” Ryan glares at him and says, “Let me tell you something, Sam. The only way that girl is coming back to you is if a blast of semen catapults her across the street and through the window and.” Now, that I would have paid good money to see.Meg's Best Work?Addicted to Love was meant to be a minor film for Meg Ryan, released during that genius stretch from When Harry Met Sally… to You’ve Got M@il. Yet it holds more ideas and laughs than a summer’s worth of movies put together.Meg Ryan was the first movie star I ever saw who made me realise I was more connected to the cinema than anyone I knew. Maggie, felt like a soulmate. I’d find myself daydreaming about her to the point where I’d completely forget whatever it was I was doing. I’d wish I could bump into her on the street and talk to her (or, in my case, more likely run away in fright).Chemistry is everything. For a perfect example of this take a look at Sandra Bullock and Hugh Grant in Two Weeks Notice – no chemistry at all. For another example, watch George Clooney and Michelle Pfeiffer in One Fine Day, the chemistry is incredible; especially when they finally kiss.Until this point Michelle has seemed prim and proper, but when she kisses George, kisses him as if he’s some incredibly wonderful flavour of gelato she’s never tasted before, she’s Pfeiffercalifragilisticexpialodocious!Yet, despite the maximisation of kissability on display in the Clooney & Pfeiffer pfest; or maybe because of it, the gorgeous lippage of Meg Ryan’s catburgling avenger continued to haunt my mind.It is a good thing that DVDs don’t wear out like VHS tapes, so I can enjoy the genetic perfection of Pfeiffer and Ryan again and again. Both of these über-luscious stars could pucker to perfection. Having experienced the fullness, the saying “never too much of a good thing” applies; also, the whole concept reminds me of Cinema Paradiso which has one of the greatest movie endings ever!
credits-roll-again-and-again-2The Credits Roll. Wait. Meg, Michelle, Spiderman and The Hulk were all in this? Maggie had top billing? I imagine this was my subconscious pining, understandable when I’m drunk on Havana Club rum and sleep deprivation.10-thoughts-headerFinal Word? One Fine Day: C, Michelle: B-, Addicted to Love: B+, Meg Ryan: A

19 Comments

Filed under Retrospective

19 responses to “A Dozen Thoughts I had While Watching Addicted to Love and One Fine Day on Groundhog Day…

  1. Great piece of writing! Well-done!!! –Paul

  2. Can’t go wrong with One Fine Day on Groundhog Day! I think the main reason I prefer it to Addicted to Love (which I love for the music and the two main male leads) is Michelle… she is WONDERFUL!!! (and Meg Ryan just doesn’t ever come close!)

  3. Once again, a wonderful post! I thoroughly enjoy your writing style!
    Rough weekend Paul??? 😉

  4. I beg of you, will you please watch “Kate and Leopold”

  5. Great post 🙂 You know three things popped in my head while reading this post 🙂 When Broderick’s character mentions Catwoman it feels uncanny considering the fact that this is a blog about the films of Meg Ryan and Michelle Pfeiffer. Addicted to Love does not feature Pfeiffer, but she did play Catwoman once 🙂 When you mention electronics, one wonders how this film would have played out in the seventies (a la a comedy version of The Conversation with Gene Hackman). Also, when you mention Pfeiffer capturing the tone of a real New Yorker, I can’s help but think of her Angela de Marco character in Married to the Mob 🙂 On an unrelated note, I have been reading some online stuff written by British horror film fan and writer and film critic Kim Newman. He writes some pretty interesting stuff. Anyway, keep up the great work as always and I always look forward to reading a new blog post on here about the films of Meg Ryan and Michelle Pfeiffer 🙂

    • Thanks for the visit, your comment popped up just as I was getting ready for work. It certainly brightened a bleak Monday morning.
      It’s uncanny how often we’re on the same wavelength. I also wonder about Broderick’s Catwoman reference, A nod to his Ladyhawke co-star? No doubt it made La Pfeiffer roll her eyes when she watched this film.

      P.S. I will have a look at Kim Newman’s site.

  6. I love posts like this! You know, I’ve never seen Addicted To Love, but I am tempted now! 🙂

  7. Ah! So you watch Meg Ryan films. Yeah, then you should definitely watch K&L. 😀

  8. Hello Paul! Nice review mate. Great movies, aren’t they? Loved them both and I find it really difficult to separate them. I think I prefer Addicted to Love slightly more, as delightful as Michelle Pfeiffer is, Maggie is far sexier!!

    –Paul

  9. Excellent retrospective account there, Paul. You’ve got a new fan. Great blog title too.

    I’ve never actually seen ‘Addicted to Love’, although Meg has long been one of my guilty pleasures, as evidenced by my recently posted love for ‘When Harry Met Sally…’

    I may have to find it on Netflix and spare myself the 93 minutes required to admire it.

Leave a Reply

