You are Cordially Invited…

Screwball comedy sprang to life at the height of the Great Depression. The term screwball coming from the world of baseball, where New York Giants pitcher Carl Hubbell was famous for striking out batters with a pitch that could flutter and drop, swerve in different directions, and behave in unexpected ways…. That describes the characteristics of good screwball comedy too.In May, Meg Ryan’s Addicted to Love celebrates its twentieth birthday. As I love screwball in general and Addicted to Love in particular, I’d like to celebrate the day. That is why I’m inviting you all to the Addicted to Screwball Blogathon.The iconic movies of the genre: The Awful Truth, Bringing Up Baby, His Girl Friday, The Lady Eve etc, are worth discussing time and again, as are the queens of the screwball scene. Irene Dunne, Katharine Hepburn, Carole Lombard, Myrna Loy, Rosalind Russell and Barbara Stanwyck all found wild success in the genre and I’d love to read your thoughts on a favourite film or particular performance of theirs.There have been several attempts to reinvigorate the screwball comedy, as well as numerous homages to it over the years. Addicted to Love is my favourite example –you might also care to feature Leatherheads, One Fine Day, What’s up Doc? or any other film that comes under the banner, however loosely.If you are interested in participating please leave me a comment below. There are no rules or restrictions and even if you have no idea what you’re going to write about yet, don’t worry. You’ve got nearly 2 months to surprise us all!Just copy and paste one of the banners above into your post and link back to this place on or before the 23rd of May. I’ll create a new post to feature all the articles on the day. Happy screwballing!

58 Comments

Filed under Blogathon

58 responses to “You are Cordially Invited…

  1. Sounds fun. I’m in! I’d like to write about It Happened One Night.

  2. I’m in! Just let me dig and see what I have access to on Netflix. Haha! I’ll get back to you on my choice. 🙂

    • Excellent! Thanks Kim, I’ll look forward to hearing from you.

      • Hey Paul! Haven’t forgotten about you. Just still thinking about film selection. Not too familiar with screwball comedy. Or maybe I do without knowing its the term (that happens frequently as well). Regardless, any suggestions from selections that aren’t taken?

        • Hey Kim! Thanks for getting in touch. Most of the classic screwball comedies are from the 1930s and 40s. I’m not sure how easy they are to get hold of, and from reading your posts am I right in thinking you’re not much of a fan of old black and white films?
          What about Meg Ryan’s Addicted to Love which celebrates its birthday on the day of the blogathon? I’d love to hear what you think of that one. You could re-jig your review of French Kiss or maybe watch George Clooney and Michelle Pfeiffer in One Fine Day. Mistress America is a more recent screwball update and going back to the 90s there are films like My Best Friends Wedding and Two Much. Whatever you decide, thanks again for your support!

          • I’m a fan of good movies so nothing against BW films. I just don’t have access to it as much 🙂 I was reading up on screwball comedy and it said some Marilyn Monroe movies work too?
            You know that I can’t say no to Meg or Michelle or Julia Roberts for that matter but I will probably take Addicted to Love. Seems I can’t find One Fine Day. Odd because it was on Netflix just last year.

  3. Hi Paul, I’m headed to New York City in the near future, maybe that will inspire me to write. Sorry for my not contributing more in the blogosphere, I’ve been so strapped for time.

  4. Great post 🙂 I know some other golden age directors you can talk about when you host The Addicted to Love blogathon. Some of the female characters in the films of Preston Sturges and Ernst Lubitsch. For example, I can just see some (rather subtle) comparisons between Maggie and Claudette Colbert’s character in The Palm Beach Story 🙂 Anyway, keep up the great work as always 🙂

  5. My offering is – ‘Bebe Daniels – Silent Screwball’ 😃👍

    • Wonderful! I love Bebe, but really only know her for her pre-Code stuff while being aware she did SO MUCH both before and after that brief period. She had talent and sass and it’ll be nice to learn more about her career. Thanks again for getting involved!

      • No bother! William Powell appeared in quite a few of Bebe’s silent comedies, most are sadly lost. I’ll also do a couple of paragraphs on ‘Life With The Lyons’ – this was the hit BBC radio sitcom that Bebe and her husband Ben Lyon made in the fifties.

  6. In keeping with my Beautiful Men theme, I shall ogle Screwball Heroes…

  7. Will look into a few ideas and get back to you – love the banners too xx

  8. Can I do Surrender (1987), Michael Caine said himself its a screwball comedy! My blog is https://weegiemidget.wordpress.com/, thank, Gill at Realweegiemidget Reviews x

  9. This sounds fun. I’m just very busy at the moment. The next time you do a blogathon I will try to take part. Hope it’s OK that I don’t take part.

  10. Hey, it’s no problem, I know you’re busy with the move and your new blog. There’s still almost two months to the blogathon, so if things do calm down and you want to get involved you’ll be very welcome. Thanks for stopping by Vinnie!

  11. Hi Paul, interesting concept. I’m out of hibernation ..again:) although its still rather cold here, I just wanted to tell you.. I love every woman you mentioned in this blog. i especially love to watch the old Barbara Stanwyck movies.

  12. Thank you for such a kind invitation. (Gives a little curtsey). It seems I was late to arrive to the word press party and back to blogging due to poor health but it’s nice to see a lot of people who are happy to be on board with this great idea of yours. ☺
    I have a nostalgic connection with His Girl Friday, it was one of the first classics thy really made me the vintage lady I am today. I’ve always admired the era but it just have me that insight to switch on my lightbulb of the classic wonders of movies. I really enjoy movies with Cary Grant. He has that suave charm about him in any role he plays, he does it so well and I really liked Meg Ryan in You’ve got M@il. Hope this blogathon goes well for you. I have a feeling it’ll be wonderful and charming as the posts you write about.
    There’s also a great ‘screwball’ comedy I loved watching called That Touch of Mink. It’s eccentric but charming which you would enjoy if you haven’t seen it. ☺

    • Thank you for the thoughtful comment, it is appreciated. If you’d like to feature His Girl Friday or That Touch of Mink in the blogathon you’d be very welcome.

  13. Hi Paul…I’m in! But you already knew that 😉
    Apologies for the delayed response…been galavanting with the wild animals for a week. Now trying to get through all the posts I’ve missed.

  14. Still not sure what I’ll be doing but would love to participate.

  15. Hope I haven’t overlooked someone else nabbing this one in the comments – I’d like to do “You Can’t Take it With You” (1938).

    This is going to be fun!

    • It’s all yours and it’s all good. What a cast! Lionel Barrymore, James Stewart, Ann Miller, Dub Taylor, Edward Arnold, Eddie Rochester Anderson and Misha Auer all acting completely and wonderfully screwy. Thanks so much for getting involved. “I feel so good, life is running around inside of me like a squirrel!”

  16. I don’t see a master list of those already taken. If there are no rules for having repeats, and since I didn’t notice if it had already been opted anyway, I think I’d like to finally get around to “Arsenic and Old Lace.”

  17. I’m in Paul, Just need to decide what films to choose!

  18. I’m definitely joining this blogathon. I love screwball comedies. Can I please take, “Bringing Up Baby” ( 1938 )?

  19. thanks for submitting to The Classic Movie Marathon Link Party. I will participate but will have to think about the film since some of the ones I like are already taken.

    • Welcome and thanks for accepting my link.
      Please feel free to feature any film you like in the screwball blogathon. I don’t mind multiple posts on the same movie, the more the merrier.
      Thanks again for your interest!

Leave a Reply

